Open Session

Becoming a better parent through open discussion of parenting issues

Teacher and Staff Appreciation May 8, 2012

Filed under: Children — aprilgrant @ 10:22 pm

I volunteered to be the co-chair of the Teacher and Staff Appreciation 2012. I took this opportunity to be more involved in school. Of course, I don’t quite know what I got myself into. Although I’ve completed everything asked of me thus far, it’s something that should be taken seriously. We were given slightly over a month to complete the task, but really it should be a nice three month project.

Why?

To give everything to the teachers that they deserve. No matter what kind of school that your child goes to, the teachers are underpaid and overworked. Teaching to the test has become the standard and individuality has gone out the window for most of the less adept teachers. I don’t blame them because they are being torn in many different directions from the outset.

We were asked to create a week’s worth of things for the students to do to show their appreciation and order and cater a lunch. I thought that wasn’t enough. Of course, it wasn’t anyone else’s responsibility, but the chair and myself wanted to at least try to get a bit more.

Unfamiliar with the requirements to request donations, we were too late for most of the chains and were able to obtain some from local businesses. So far, so good.

I did want to show off this little invitation that I made based on the one that I saw over here.

I really love crafts, but normally don’t have time to do them and I really don’t have time to do them right.

I hope this inspires you to do a little bit more for your teachers this week. Give them a token of your appreciation. If every parent pitches in, it’ll be perfect.

 

Leave a Reply

