Open Session

Becoming a better parent through open discussion of parenting issues

She looks like… April 9, 2012

Filed under: Blogging,Children,Family — aprilgrant @ 12:55 pm

I hear it almost daily. I’m not sure what to say. I mean, I agree with them. My daughter looks like my husband.

I guess it’s to fill in voids in conversation. Or maybe it’s to let me know that they are looking at my child and they can see the resemblance.

I’d respond with something snarky like “Thank God! I don’t have to tell my husband about the affair, ” but I think coming from me, too many people would think that I was serious. If you’ve been reading for a while, you’d know I don’t joke much.

But back to the original topic. I know she favors my husband. I’m happy she does. I married someone whom I found attractive. I normally point out what I see of me in her (and in my son for that matter), but she and my son look the same at 3 months.

I think I’ve only mentioned it to someone else once because of a lull in the conversation. But please tell me why this is something to talk about? I don’t want a mini-me, so I don’t really care who she looks like…

 

 

Leave a Reply

