Open Session

Becoming a better parent through open discussion of parenting issues

Showers are “Me” Time March 6, 2012

Filed under: Family — aprilgrant @ 11:39 am

Everyday is an adventure. I’m not saying that it’s a fun or exciting… just an adventure. I’m a stay at home for the time being. I have a son who’s in school until 2:30, and a daughter who needs my constant attention. I haven’t been able to get any time to myself. When the baby is asleep, I have to clean up, do laundry.

I’m not complaining. This has been a joy. I used to do all of this with a full time job. I was stressed and went to bed exhausted.

Anyway, the only time I get to be alone is in the shower. Just the sound of running water and my thoughts. Peaceful, relaxing.

In the shower, I can think about my hopes and dreams, organize my to-do list, and let the stress wash away. I don’t want the baby, the stresses, or anyone else in the family to interrupt it.

It’s my me time.

 

Leave a Reply

