Open Session

Becoming a better parent through open discussion of parenting issues

Hanging my Stockings for Christmas December 9, 2011

Filed under: Christmas,Family — aprilgrant @ 7:15 pm

When we picked out our Christmas tree at Home Depot, I checked out their Decorations section. Over the last few years, I have missed hanging our stockings. As a renter, putting nails in the banister for a once-a-year event, especially since we had typically put up our tree about a week before Christmas. I didn’t realize until this year that we didn’t even have stockings!

At Home Depot (which seems like one of the few places that carry stocking hangers, including online), they were $10 each. I knew they were a bit expensive, especially for the limited use. Of course, my husband solidified the decision by basically declaring ‘Hell No’ in the middle of the store. He was mildly considering it when he thought about purchasing three – him, me, son. Then, I reminded him of our newborn to come. He laughed, shook his head, said his peace and walked out. So a cheaper version has to be born.

I can be creative, but my style is extremely unique. I typically don’t copy what I see or try to replicate it. So, instead of $10 each, my stocking hangers ended up being less than $3. I can’t give an actual amount because I repurposed some of the pieces, to cut down on cost.

Piece of slate: $0.38 each. I chose slate because it had some weight to a small size.
Hook: $0.85 each
Metal/concrete epoxy: $4.00
Ornament: free (already had; repurposed)
Ribbon: $0.99
Glue gun and stick: free (already had)

First, I bonded the hook to the concrete using the Metal-Concrete Epoxy. This epoxy is made especially to bond these two materials together. It took eight minutes to set, but recommended 24 hours to fully bond. I waited the full 24 hours. I don’t want any gifts to be too heavy and tear the hook off.

Next, I glued the ornament to the top of the concrete.

Then, I made bows out of the ribbons and glued them to the hooks.

And voila! Stocking hangers! All for under $3 each.

 

Leave a Reply

